Summer MOOCs 2017

It’s that time again: vacations, sunbathing, lemonade, and chaining myself to my computer 14 hours a day for no practical purpose whatsoever other than I just love this stuff.

By the luck of the draw, late June – most of the summer, really – is ridiculously overly scheduled. I’m going to have to make some tough choices at some point: just continuing microbiology and retaking calculus would be pretty intense. But I can’t resist at least taking a look at the rest; reach, grasp, all that. And there’s usually a disappointment in the list, something that looked good but just didn’t sit right with me for whatever silly reason. I’m actually hoping that’ll be the case, so I won’t have to drop something I’d really like to complete.

Not listed below is the suite of Anatomy courses from the University of Michigan, listed in my January post. They were delayed and rescheduled, and start in late June, late August, October and December, and are all self-paced so offer flexibility. Unfortunately, that often means they’re crowded out by scheduled things, but I hope I can work them in.

I noticed that many of the courses I took in the first five months of this year were drop-ins, things I’d heard about after posting my January list. I can’t possibly fit another thing in this summer. Can I?

Principles of Biochemistry
Start June 5, 2017
15 weeks, 4-6 hrs/wk
Instructor: Alain Viel, Rachelle Gaudet
School/platform: Harvard/edX
Official blurb:

This course explores the molecules of life, starting with building blocks and culminating in complex metabolism and associated diseases.

It’s been a long time since I took a full-length mooc; most are 4 to 8 weeks now. I very much liked Harvard’s Mitochondria course, so I’m hoping this will be in the same vein. The problem is: I’ll be taking it at the same time as Calculus and Molecular Bio, and I don’t know how that’s going to work. I hope I can manage it, but it may not be possible.

Calculus 1A: Differentiation
Start June 7, 2017
13 weeks, 6-10 hrs/wk
Instructor: Various
School/platform: MIT/edX
Official blurb:

Discover the derivative—what it is, how to compute it, and when to apply it in solving real world problems. Part 1 of 3.

I tried this once before – it’s a great class – but was garroted by a zipline and never recovered. Will I get the elusive pass this time? I have my doubts, but I may as well give it a shot. I’ve been going through 3Blue1Brown’s Essence of Calculus playlist (which is spectacular, just from an artistic point of view; I never knew π could be so expressive) for inspiration, and Khan for a brush-up on nuts and bolts.
The course opened for its “Week 0” (a terrific idea, gives people not that familiar with edX a chance to figure out where the buttons are and how the answer entry works, which can be tricky in math courses). And I’m having second thoughts already. Given that I’ve already been here, and given how many great courses are upcoming this summer, do I really want this time sink? I’ll have to see how I feel as the summer progresses.

 

Human Origins
Start June 12, 2017
8 weeks, ? hrs/wk
Instructor: Dr. Donald C. Johanson
School/platform: ASU/edX
Official blurb:

Explore the scientific evidence for human evolution, our fossil relatives, and the place of humankind in the natural world in this credit-eligible course.

I haven’t been wildly impressed with the ASU courses I’ve taken so far, but I know people who rave about one of their astronomy courses, and the comments left by former students on this one are extremely positive so I’ll see what happens. The “credit-eligible” seems to only apply to ASU and costs $600, so I’ll pass on that. They have a habit of indicating “18 hours/week” for all their courses, so I have no idea how time-consuming it will be. It’s probably first on the chopping block if I’m overwhelmed by the two killer courses I very much want to take in June.

Molecular Biology, Part 2, Transcription and Transposition
Molecular Biology, Part 3, RNA Processing and Translation
Start June 13, 2017 (Part 2); August 15, 2017 (Part 3)
7/8 weeks, 4-8 hrs/wk
Instructor: Stephen P. Bell
School/platform: MIT/edX
Official blurb:

Strengthen your scientific thinking and experimental design skills in this adventure through transcription and transposition/ An in-depth adventure through RNA Processing and Translation.

Status: Well, I knew something would have to give, and it turned out to be this (at least the first round of cuts; probably more to come). First, my computer broke, then I was sick for a couple of days, and as a result I never really got it together for the first week. This course is too hard to approach with anything less than full concentration. After much consideration, it was the focus on lab assays that decided it; I’d rather know more about biochemistry (which has the added benefit of being self-paced and thus I have until December), rather than trying to keep the assays straight. I regret that this was necessary – I still admire the series and recommend it – but sometimes choices must be made.

I just completed Part 1; it’s a great course, so I’m looking forward to the rest. I don’t know who does these in 4 to 8 hours a week; I’d guess it’s more like 10 to 12 for me, so it’s going to be a major time investment – but one that’s worthwhile.

 

Justice
Start June 15, 2017
12 weeks, 2-4 hrs/wk
Instructor: Michael J. Sandel
School/platform: Harvard/edX
Official blurb:

Justice explores critical analysis of classical and contemporary theories of justice, including discussion of present-day applications. Topics include affirmative action, income distribution, same-sex marriage, the role of markets, debates about rights (human rights and property rights), arguments for and against equality, dilemmas of loyalty in public and private life. The course invites learners to subject their own views on these controversies to critical examination.
The principal readings for the course are texts by Aristotle, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, John Stuart Mill, and John Rawls. Other assigned readings include writings by contemporary philosophers, court cases, and articles about political controversies that raise philosophical questions.
Subtitles are available in Chinese, German, Portuguese, and Spanish.

I can’t imagine that time estimate of 2-4 hours will be anywhere close to accurate, but this looks very interesting, so I’ve got to see if I can squeeze it in somewhere. Sleep is overrated anyway, right? And if it turns out it’s not, the lectures seem to be available online, which might work better.

Proteins: Alignment, Analysis and Structure
Start August 2, 2017
8 weeks, 8-10 hrs/wk
Instructor: Dr. James Coker
School/platform: University of Maryland/edX
Official blurb:

Learn about proteins and the important role structure plays in their function as you learn how to analyze and align protein sequences

Seems like a flood of biology courses starting in June. I’ve never taken anything from Maryland, so I’d like to see what they’re up to. However, this is a MicroMasters course, and “undergrad bio” is listed as a prereq, so it might be way out of my league. Worth a look.

 

Life and Death: Mysteries and Meanings
Start August 2, 2017
4 weeks, 4-6 hrs/wk
Instructor: Many
School/platform: Hong Kong Polytechnic Institute
Official blurb:

If you are interested in questions about life-and-death and keen to seek ultimate answers, this inter-disciplinary and inter-cultural course will amaze you with the diverse perspectives and answers proposed to the perennial questions….
Different from conventional applied ethics, this course highlights the importance of the interdisciplinary (scientific, religious and philosophical) perspectives and their interplay, which demonstrates tensions, conflicts and above all, this being the arch-goal of this course, the possibility of coordination and corroboration, forming various ultimately coherent outlooks on life and death.

I was hoping to find some humanities courses to break up the science this summer, so when a mooc buddy mentioned this, I enrolled. The teaser video is intense. I’ve been enjoying these multi-disciplinary courses, so I’m looking forward to it.

Quantum Mechanics for Everyone
Open now, self-paced
4 weeks, 7-10 hrs/wk
Instructor: James Freericks
School/platform: Georgetown/edX
Official blurb:

Learn the fundamental notions of quantum mechanics at a level that is accessible to everyone.
What you’ll learn:
• Understand what a quantum particle is in the world of the ultrasmall
• Learn the basics of probability theory
• Discover what spin is and how it is manipulated by magnets
• Explain what the quantum mystery is
• Apply quantum ideas to understand partial reflection of light, interaction-free measurements, and particle indistinguishability

James Freericks has a mission: to free the world from physics phobia. I’m not sure quantum mechanics is the best place to start to do that, but I’m neither a physicist nor a teacher, so what do I know. I so wish they’d used “For Dummies” in the title, but I suppose that’s some kind of copyright violation. I’ve heard several “for everyone” explanations prior to this, and I still seem to miss the big picture (not to mention a lot of details) but sure, I’ll try it. In any case it’s probably fun. Since it’s self-paced (take any time in the next year) I can schedule at will.

2 responses to “Summer MOOCs 2017

  1. Goodness, I like your choice of courses. Am very tempted by the Principles of Microbiology) and a Calculus refresh (remember Jim’s lovely Calculus 1.. I worked so hard on that ) I always felt I missed the biology bus, being a Maths/Physics/Chemistry person. I haven’t studied Biology since O levels (that’s a quaint, old UK qualification, usually taken at 16… don’t worry, most people in the UK haven’t heard of them anymore either, if they’re under 35). Such an explosion of new, exciting knowledge too. However, i’m spending my summer doing repair and emergency rescue work on the house that my expartner has allowed to fall into virtual dereliction around him in the 9 years since we separated. I’m pushing 60 and am beginning to feel too old to be shinning up scaffolding to repair roofline cladding and cut trees down… but hell, it’s a sorry tale…but the kids are way beyond needing a home base now, so a sale can finally happen. i’d rather be learning new STUFF especially as there is so much NEW STUFF to learn! 14 hours a day sounds far too much to be healthy. In fact, offstage in the wings I can hear a muttering … I think it’s the word “excessive” closely followed by a risingly intoned “obsessive?” …. just go big on homemade lemonade and you’ll swim through… no nice Music Theory courses? A follow up to the one from Edinburgh Uni a few years back would be nice….

    • Hi Jo, great to hear from you again! I’m impressed with the repair work – cutting trees down, really? Wow, I feel so guilty just sitting in front of a computer. I keep using my age as an excuse, then you come along and put me to shame ;).
      Yes, I go too far with these courses, but I can’t resist. Chances are good I’ll drop something somewhere along the line. More than good, I think it’s going to be necessary. Some of these are self-paced so I can spread them out a little, but at some point, something’s gotta give.
      I’ve always liked reading about medical stuff, so biology is really the science I’ve taken to the most (and there’s less math!). I do need more chemistry, though; I’m kind of faking it in places. Fortunately, there’s a lot of stuff on youtube that’s very helpful.
      Hey, good luck with the house – and be careful when climing up on roofs or cutting down trees!

Leave a Reply

