Bye-Bye BASS 2014


Last year, I thought BASS was a little on the safe side. This year was anything but safe.

Nearly every story was initially confusing, in a variety of ways. Structures that weren’t immediately predictable. Unexpected voices. Tense shifts, blurry settings, missing landmarks. And nearly every story, with a little patience and a little work on my part, delivered.

I had a good time. And I learned a little bit more about what’s possible in a story.

Putting together my “favorites” list is always hard, since how I feel about a story or a group of stories varies from day to day, from year to year, and sometimes changes on re-reading on another day or in another year. But I like forcing myself to prioritize. Each of my favorites is a favorite for a slightly different reason, sometimes because of the emotional punch, sometimes because I admire the craft that went into it, sometimes both. And misses are embarrassing, since they always end up on someone’s “best story of the year” list and I feel like an idiot for not getting it. Nevertheless, my list:

The stand-out:

La Pulchra Nota” by Molly McNett

 
Other favorites:

Kattekoppen” by Will Mackin
Hover” by Nell Freudenberger
The Breeze” by Joshua Ferris
After the Flood” by Peter Cameron
Madame Bovary’s Greyhound” by Karen Russell
Antarctica” by Laura van den Berg

 
My least favorite:

Next to Nothing” by Stephen O’Connor

 
 
I could’ve added a few more to the “Other Favorites” category, but that’ll cover most of it.

Some themes emerged. Religion seemed prevalent. As I look back at the list, I see overt religion prominent in only one story, really, maybe two, but was a factor in several others. Is this unusual, or was I simply primed by taking a couple of MOOCs with religious content? Looking back over past tables of contents, I think there was slightly more mention of religion this year, but some of it was merely in titles or passing reference, so it’s probably a combination of both. I found a lot of eye imagery, but again, is that unusual, or did I just happen to notice it? War made its appearance, but war has a way of showing up in fiction. So does bad weather. Troubled children. And death.

I keep coming back to the elusiveness of the stories as a unifying theme. For me, at least, these weren’t lyrically beautiful casual reads about familiar human relationships; these stories took more roundabout paths that required more effort. There was often lyric beauty, and of course human relationships are pretty much what lies at the heart of all fiction, whether it’s about war or a frat party or an unexpected house guest or a music student; but the key relational aspect wasn’t always evident at first glance, because the story presented some challenges to getting on board. I like that. I’m no fan of unearned intimacy.

I have to wonder: If I’d encountered this volume five or six years ago – would I have hated it? Would I have had the patience to find the way in to stories which, for the most part, were as disorienting as Jennifer Egan promised in her introduction? That leads to a more important question: what am I too impatient for, right now?

2 responses to “Bye-Bye BASS 2014

  1. One of these years I’m going to have to dive into BASS. And MOOGs, and so much else that you do 🙂

    By the way, your last favorite character on PR is back on the All Stars (Fabio). It’s nice to see him again, even if all we do now is watch the challenge and then the runway, avoiding as much actual talk as we can. Happy new year!

    • Hi Paul, so good to see you, it’s been a while… yeah, I saw Fabio, I even watched a couple of episodes just because he was there. And these days, watching an episode of what-was-once-is-no-more is a big deal. 😉

      I’m going to post a list of my upcoming MOOCs next week – I’d love it if you found one you’d like to try. They’re fun, and you can take them as seriously, or not, as you like, nobody’s ever gonna know.

      Pushcart next week, too. Because break’s over.

Leave a Reply

