More Online Fiction…

"for the love of books" by Vipul Mather

“for the love of books” by Vipul Mather

…because you can never have enough.

I updated my Online Fiction Page only three months ago, but I recently started following #StorySunday on Twitter (which I’m also adding to my Cool Sites for Readers and Writers page as a Tool for Readers, even though it isn’t exactly a website), and have come across several stories in quick succession that I simply must share right now or I’ll burst. (except I just discovered it moved to #ShortStorySunday while I was doing something else)

Flash:

The Woodcutter’s Wife” by Ben Black, from Smokelong – you’ll never think of Hansel and Gretel in the same way again.

Endnotes” by Gregory Norminton, from The Guardian, 01/29/08 – did I mention I love a story that doesn’t look like a story? This brilliant gem was part of #StorySunday of May 12, contributed by Rachael de Moravia.

Unspeakable Acts” by Philip Langeskov, from New Writing, 10/02/12 – commissioned by the BBC to mark the 10th anniversary of the death of W. G. Sebald, broadcast on “The Verb” on the 14th of October, 2011. Contributed to #StorySunday on June 2 by Anna Metcalfe

Short Stories:

An Index of How Our Family Was Killed” by Matt Bell, from Conjunctions, 3/4/09 (ok, so it took me a while to stumble across it) – I’m always a sucker for a story that doesn’t look like a story.

Male Seeking Female” by Claire Burgess, from Annalemma, 10/26/11 – fate, missed connections, and love, in a meditation on the nature of reality.

In Hanneke’s Room” by Kate Brown, from Swansea Review, Spring 2013 – sometimes we get what we need in the strangest ways; contributed to the May 12 Story Sunday by Tania Hershman.

Other Forms:

For A.M., 1996- 2013” by Jason Novak, from The Rumpus, 03/15/13 – one of the most heart-breaking things I’ve ever read (and I’ve read a lot of heartbreaking things). Thirty seconds from wherever you are to a puddle of tears, guaranteed. Yet somehow it’s not maudlin, just honest.

Leave a Reply

