I Can Breathe Again…

They threw everything they had at this guy. Grover Norquist. Citizen United. The Tea Party. Karl Rove and his American Crossroads. Dick Cheney. Sheldon Adelson. Donald Trump. Targeted suppression of voting rights on a scale that makes Jim Crow look like an amateur. Racism – subtle and not – and outrageous but convenient lies. The comfort of ignorance. The revisionism of an Etch-a-sketch campaign. Even Dancing with the Stars. And, of course, God.

And he won anyway.

Here’s where the Democrats could use a little God.

Not the God some of us already have – the one who says “forgive seventy times seven” and “as you did unto the least of these you did unto me” and “it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of the needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven” (funny how fundamentalists can switch from literal to metaphoric interpretation when they need to).

No, we could use a God more in the image of the right wing, a God who needs hurricanes to make his point. Like sending a hurricane on the first day of two consecutive Republican conventions, and a week before the election when things are nail-bitingly close and the RepBot has momentum. You know that if things had gone a little differently – if the hurricane had hit North Carolina on Labor Day or Sandy had suddenly veered East and never made landfall – the red airwaves would’ve been proclaiming the Will of God.

But Democrats will have to suffice with the will of the American people. Which once in a while is capable of more than you ever thought it could be.

I didn’t even realize how tense I’ve been about this election until about 7pm last night when I started to get scared. I tried to read. I tried to play a game. I tried to watch a movie. I was a mess. So I found comfort in the tweets and retweets of Baratunde Thurston, David Rees, Nate Silver, Melissa Harris-Perry, Roxane Gay, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert. Thanks, guys, I needed that. Until 11:12pm when I could relax and watch the Rove/Trump comedy hour.

Congratulations, President Obama.

3 responses to “I Can Breathe Again…

  1. Nate Silver was my locus of sanity for the past few weeks. Having no power/internet was just what the doctor ordered for my stress levels. There were even significant gains in some areas (sadly, not in my own little red stain of NJ).

    • Hi Paul – I haven’t yet replied to your post from yesterday about your hurricane experience, I somehow forgot you live in NJ and had placed you in Pennsylvania! I’m glad you’re ok, I’ll be by later.

      I’m really happy with what Maine did last night – we didn’t even split our electoral college votes, all 4 went blue. And, best of all, marriage equality passed. Angus King works out pretty well. Even the local guy I voted for won. Now all we have to do is get rid of our Tea Party governor who snuck in between third parties two years ago…

      • Hooray Maine! Marriage equality, well done!
        NJ is solidly blue for the President but we have pockets of red (in the more rural, rich areas). Mostly they are fiscal conservatives, but the stuck in some Tea Partiers last time and we can’t shake them. We have a woman vs woman battle but the wrong woman won and we had an Indian man (who is awesome) running against an entrenched TP sympathizer and I was sure we had enough Indian voters locally to pull him through, but I think they might all be in a different district. Major bummer. But nothing can diminish the overall good news.

Leave a Reply

